Lindon was officially incorporated as a town in 1924, but residents first began settling in the area as early as 1861. 

The area sat between Pleasant Grove and Orem, which was at the time called the Provo Bench. Residents of what is now Lindon built homes along the route between Orem and Pleasant Grove, and the area gained the nickname "Stringtown."

The city eventually gained its current name through a misspelling of the type of tree that served as the drop-off spot for the area's mail -- a Linden tree. The name was misspelled as Lindon in the post office application process and the area's name remained with the unique spelling.

Several of the buildings and homes from the earliest era of Lindon's history still stand today. Here are 10 buildings that have been recognized by the Lindon Historic Preservation Commission or the National Register of Historic Places.

-Stacy Johnson, Daily Herald

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!