High school wrestling All-Star Dual 12

Payson's McCoy Cook is declared the winner after defeating Union's Dalton Clark in the 220-pound weight class during the Dollamur Utah All-Star Dual held Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2019, at the UCCU Center in Orem. Isaac Hale, Daily Herald

This weekend featured the 4A Divisional tournaments. Payson traveled to Tooele and easily won the Divisional A tourney while Uintah, as expected, cruised to the Divisional B title.

Cole Jensen (113 pounds), Tyler Knapp (152), Tucker Naccarato (160), Tyson Carter (170) and Harrison Judd (182) all won Divisional A titles, but the Lions were further bolstered by runner-up finishes by Wyatt Hone (126), Jorge Sanchez (132), Brock Loveless (145), Trevor Guzman (182) and McCoy Cook (220).

Judd actually beat his teammate Guzman in an all-Lion championship final. Loveless had a stellar tournament and took top-seeded Jace Dart of Mountain Crest to the brink, falling just one point short (7-6) to the Mustang grappler.

Jensen’s win was a classic as he upended Tooele’s Joseph Mecham 5-4 with a late score to disappoint the home-standing Buffalo fans. Both wrestlers competed at the Dollamur All-Star Dual in January. The combined record for both grapplers on the season is an incredible 91-7.

Payson looks strong for state as the Lions qualified 22 wrestlers and many will have excellent positions on the bracket thanks to their placements at the divisional meet.

Spanish Fork and Orem also traveled to Tooele and finished fifth and eighth respectively in the 13-team field.

Spanish Fork’s Sam Dawe (285) improved his sparkling record to 45-1, claiming gold with a second-round pin over Kioni Alvarez of Cedar City. His Don teammate Ben Boyack (195) finished second.

Orem’s Cooper Legas (195) stayed undefeated at 28-0 as he won two matches by pin, another by technical fall and lastly defeating Boyack in the final by medical forfeit.

The Utah County schools in 4A were split between the two divisionals but several were fortunate to stay closer to home by competing at the Divisional B tourney hosted by Mountain View.

Salem Hills crowned two champions as Chyler Zeeman (160), who has missed quite a bit of action this season to injury, stayed undefeated at 18-0 by taking home the title with a 4-2 sudden victory decision over Ryan Ball of Canyon View.

His fellow Skyhawk teammate Merrell Morley improved to 49-5 on the season when he claimed the 182-pound title.

Dawson Wood (113) and Heston Wood (170) both finished second to add to the Skyhawk attack as Salem Hills finished fourth in the 14-team field.

Mountain View big man David Herring (285) won his title in dominating style with three first-round pins and then winning his final match by medical forfeit. His Bruin teammate Jonathan Hyatt came through with a 152-pound title while Seth Burr (145) fell in the championship round to Bridger Bennion of Uintah. The host Bruins finished in a solid fifth place.

Lehi also competed at this divisional and Emory Packer (120) placed third as the Pioneers finished 11th as a team.

The 1A and 2A held their state championships this weekend in Richfield at the Sevier Event Center. Monticello took home the 1A crown while Millard lifted the gold trophy in 2A. Of note, Altamont’s McKay Foy (170) and Millard’s Calun Whitaker (220) won their fourth individual titles.

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!