homepage logo

Stratton to run for state Senate, Sakievich not seeking reelection in 2024

By Carlene Coombs - | Jan 9, 2024
1 / 2
Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, right, talks with Rep. Keven J. Stratton during the first day of the legislative session held at the Utah State Capitol on Monday, Jan. 27, 2020, in Salt Lake City.
2 / 2
Utah County Commissioner Tom Sakievich speaks during a meeting at the Utah County Administration Building in Provo on Wednesday, March 29, 2023.

As the candidate filing period ended Monday, Utah County Commissioner Tom Sakievich opted not to seek reelection this year and Utah state Rep. Keven Stratton declared he will be running for Utah Senate District 24.

Sakievich has been on the commission for one term and Stratton, R-Orem, has served in the Utah House since 2012.

Senate District 24 is currently represented by state Sen. Curt Bramble, who has filed for reelection. Two other Republicans have filed for the seat — former state Sen. Dan Hemmert and former state Rep. Brad Daw. A third-party candidate, David Hinckley with the Utah Forward Party, also has filed to run.

Stratton told the Daily Herald in a text message that he believes in the principle of term limits, which led him and his wife to make the decision that Stratton should conclude his time in the House.

“House District 58 holds a unique position in contributing significantly to the welfare of our state,” he said. “I believe it boasts unparalleled capacity and a wealth of contributions. Moreover, I know I may be biased but I am confident that our district harbors a pool of exceptional potential candidates, surpassing those in any other district.”

He added that, as the legislative session approaches, he is committed to serving his constituents through the end of his term. His district contains parts of Orem, Lindon and Provo.

So far, four candidates have filed to run for Stratton’s seat in the House. Candidates include Holly Sweeten, a staffer for U.S. Rep. Burgess Owens; Dave Shallenberger, a local business owner; Angela Moulton; and Democrat candidate Joshua Sorensen.

Sakievich announced via email late last week that he would not be seeking reelection.

“Over the past three years, it has been my distinct honor to work alongside you, fellow residents, county employees, elected officials, and follow commissioners in shaping the future of Utah County,” Sakievich said in an email addressed to Utah County residents. “Your support and collaboration has been, and continues to be, invaluable, and for that, I am deeply grateful.”

He said recent health issues have caused him to reevaluate his priorities, leading to his decision not to run for reelection.

“Utah County is home to many hardworking, patriotic, and conservative leaders, and I have full confidence that several qualified individuals will step forward to continue the excellent work on behalf of our county,” he said.

As of Monday afternoon, five Republicans had filed to run for County Commission Seat C — Diane Garcia, Jay Ugarte, Tom Westmoreland, Skyler Beltran and Andrew Jackson.

Westmoreland is currently the mayor of Eagle Mountian, Garcia owns Thompson Century Farm in Spanish Fork, Beltran is a former Utah County GOP chair, Ugarte has pursued public office before, running for House District 67 in 2020, and Jackson is a former executive director of the Mountainland Association of Governments.

Alan Wessman, a United Utah candidate who ran for House District 64 in 2022, also filed to run for the seat.

Republican candidates will compete in the GOP primary election on June 25. For Republican candidates to get on that ballot, they’ll have to be either nominated by GOP party delegates or gather signatures from Republican voters.

The filing period for candidates affiliated with an official party ended Monday evening. Unaffiliated candidates have until March 5 to file.


Join thousands already receiving our daily newsletter.

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)